Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Create a Profile
News & Press: Awards

Representatives Hawkins & Parrish Selected 2015 Legislators of the Year

Tuesday, January 13, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Maria Thacker
Share |

ATLANTA--()--Georgia Bio has announced that Representative Lee Hawkins (R-27) of Gainesville and Representative Butch Parrish (R-158) of Swainsboro have been selected as the 2015 Legislators of the Year for their support of the life sciences industry and university research in Georgia during the 2014 General Assembly.

Representative Lee Hawkins (R-27)

Representative Lee Hawkins was born in Gainesville, Georgia. He graduated from Gainesville High School and went on to attend Oxford College for his Associate Degree; Emory University for his Bachelor’s Degree; University of Georgia for his Post-Graduate Degree; and returned to Emory University School of Dentistry earning his D.D.S. Degree. Today, he is a practicing dentist with his son Ben, in Gainesville, Georgia.

Dr. Hawkins was elected President of the Georgia Dental Association (GDA) in 2003. Later, he served as Chairman of the delegation to the American Dental Association. He has been recognized by his colleagues as an Honorable Fellow of the GDA, Northern District Dentist of the Year, selected as a Fellow of the American College of Dentist, a Fellow of the International College of Dentistry, a Fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy, and has received the Meritorious Service Award from the Emory Dental Alumni Association.

In 2007, Hawkins was elected to the Georgia Senate where he served until 2010. During this time, he served as the Chairman of State and Local Governmental Operations, Vice Chairman of Reapportionment, Vice Chairman of MARTOC, Secretary of Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, a member of the Health and Human Services committee, and a member of the Natural Resources and the Environment committee.

In 2013, Hawkins was elected to the Georgia House of Representatives, where he represents the 27th District which includes Hall and White counties. He currently serves a member of the Health and Human Services Committee, Insurance Committee, and the Retirement Committee.

Hawkins has received the following recognitions: Legislator of the Year Award, Award of Excellence by the Academy of Independent Pharmacy, Friends of Agriculture, Legislative Award from the County Commissioners of Georgia, and President’s Award from the Free Dental Clinics of Georgia.

He and his wife Sharon have seven children: Nora, Ivory Michelle, Benjamin, Elizabeth, Meredith, Jim, and Charlie.

Representative Butch Parrish (R-158)

Larry J. “Butch” Parrish was born in Swainsboro, Georgia and graduated from Swainsboro High School. He attended the University of Georgia and was president of his senior class in Pharmacy School. He graduated with a B.D. degree in Pharmacy and began practicing pharmacy in Swainsboro. Butch is past president of the Swainsboro Exchange Club and the Swainsboro/Emanuel County Chamber of Commerce. He was chosen as one of the Five Outstanding Young Men in Georgia by the Georgia Jaycees. That same year he was selected for the Pharmacist of the Year Award by Phi Delta Chi Pharmaceutical Fraternity at the University of Georgia. Throughout his career he has been active in many state and national pharmacy organizations.

Butch is a member of the First Methodist Church of Swainsboro and has served on its Administrative Board. He has served three terms as a member of the Swainsboro City Council. He also served two terms as a member of the Georgia Department of Community Affairs and served one year as its chairman.

The University Of Georgia College Of Pharmacy has awarded Butch the Distinguished Alumni Award. Butch has received the Wyeth Ayerst Pharmacy Community Service Award. He is a Lifetime Honorary Member of the Georgia Sheriff’s Association. He is owner of Parrish Properties, a real estate holding company, and Chairman of Medical Center Pharmacy, Inc.

He is presently serving his 15th term in the Georgia House of Representatives and represents District 158 which includes Emanuel, Candler, Jenkins and portions of Bulloch Counties. He is Chairman of the Health Subcommittee of Appropriations. He also serves as a member of the Rules Committee, the Economic Development and Tourism Committee and the Banks and Banking Committee. In addition, he serves on the One Georgia Authority Overview Committee and the Georgia World Congress Center Overview Committee. He and his wife, Charlotte, have three grown children and seven grandchildren.

Representative Watson and Representative Parrish will be honored at the Georgia Bio Annual Awards Dinner, January 22, 6 pm to 9 pm, at Atlanta’s Fox Theater. Other leading companies, executives, researchers and dedicated individuals will receive Georgia Bio Awards. Learn more and register at

For a list of past Georgia Bio Award recipients, click here. All 2015 Award Recipients are listed at

Georgia Bio ( is the private, non-profit association whose members include pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical device companies, medical centers, universities and research institutes, government groups and other business organizations involved in the development of life sciences related products and services.

Note to Editors: Credentialed members of the news media are invited to attend. Registration is complimentary. Please contact Maria Thacker (404-920-2042;

more Calendar

Swings Fore STEM Golf Outing 2018

Boehringer-Ingelheim Industry Tour

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal