Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a Profile
Awards Dinner
Share |

Each year Georgia Bio recognizes achievement and honors excellence in the life sciences industry in Georgia, as it brings together nearly 300 of the state's life sciences industry leaders. The Awards Ceremony is a celebration of the contribution and achievements of Georgia, a moment to pause a reflect on the industry's legacy. 

The 2016 Georgia Bio Awards Dinner took place Thursday, January 28, 2016  at 6:00pm at the fabulous Fox Theatre in Atlanta. The 2017 Awards Dinner will take place in January 2017. Date to be announced. If you are interested in sponsoring the 2017 dinner please contact Maria at


Photo credit: Cogito Creative, LLC

2016 Awardee Press Releases

Representative Cooper & Senator Burke Selected 2016 Legislators of the Year »

Georgia Bio Deals of the Year Spotlight Financings, Acquisitions and Collaboration »

Georgia Bio Announces Innovation Award Winners »

Janet Standeven of Lambert High School, Named Biotech Teacher of the Year »

GaBio Names Emerging Leaders of the Year & ELN Community Service Award »

2016 Community Awards Honor Academic and Industry Leaders, Children’s Hospital »

Georgia Bio to Present Lifetime Achievement Award to Norene Quinn »

Georgia Bio Announces Phoenix Award Recipient, Meredian Holdings Group »

Sherer and White to Receive 2016 Georgia Bio Industry Growth Awards »

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorships for the Awards Dinner are available.


Contact Maria for more information.

Awards nominations

The nomination period for the 2017 awards will open summer 2016. If you have any questions please email

Committee Members

Bob McNally, GeoVax (Chair)
Heather Creran, MicroBplex
David Harnett, Metro Atlanta Chamber
Lee Herron, GRA
Russ Medford, SalutraMed Group
Chris McKinney, GRU
Stefan Schulze. UGA
Richard Otto, Impact Cryotherapy

Award Categories & 2016 Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

2016 Award Winner
Norene Quinn, Association Management Services

Deals of the Year
The Deal of the Year awards recognize transactions by life sciences companies such as financings, partnering agreements and government grants that are significant to the development of Georgia’s life sciences industry.

2016 Award Winners
Arbor Pharmaceuticals, LLC (Private Financing)
Celtaxsys, Inc. (Private Financing)
Emory Genetics Laboratory & Eurofins Scientific (Joint Venture)
EndoChoice, Inc. (Initial Public Offering)
Cocrystal Pharma, Inc. and RFS Pharma, LLC (Mergers and Acquisitions)
Alcon a Novartis Company (Economic Development)
Halyard Worldwide Inc. (Economic Development)
Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. & Synageva BioPharma Corp. (Acquisitions)

Georgia Bio Industry Growth Award
The Georgia Bio Industry Growth Award, honors people in the public and private sectors who make extraordinary contributions to the life sciences industry.

2016 Award Winners
Todd Sherer, Ph.D., Emory University
Daniel White, Clearside Biomedical, Inc.

Phoenix Award
The Phoenix award represents the iconic "rising from the ashes" of the Phoenix, a symbol of strength, tenacity and leadership and is presented to celebrate the best Industry and Academics collaboration.  The two Georgia honorees will have forged academic and industry relationships that will drive translation and lead to new treatments and cures.

2016 Award Winner
MHG-Meredian Holdings Group, Inc.

Innovation Award
Georgia Innovation Award honors the department, institution, company or individuals who are forging new ground by thinking outside traditional paradigms to create some unique technology.

2016 Award Winners
Mark R. Prausnitz, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology

Georgia Bio Community Award
The Georgia Bio Community Award recognizes individuals, companies or institutions for significant contributions to Georgia’s life sciences industry with its Georgia Bio Community Awards. 

2016 Award Winners
Michael P. Diamond, M.D., Augusta University
Kevin C. Lei, M.B.A., M.S., C.L.P., Emory University
Stacy Shuker Reece, Ph.D., Down South Innovation
David Stern
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Legislator of the Year
The Georgia Bio Legislator of the Year Award recognizes legislators for their support of the life sciences industry in Georgia.

2016 Award Winners
Representative Sharon Cooper (R-43)
Senator Dean Burke (R-11)

Emerging Leader of the Year
The Emerging Leader of the Year award honors young professionals for outstanding contributions to the success of the Emerging Leaders Network (ELN) and the growth of Georgia’s life sciences community.

2016 Award Winners
Peter Borden, Georgia Institute of Technology
Kausar N. Samli, Ph.D., Glycosensors and Diagnostics
Beatrice Wan, Bard Medical Division - Community Service Award

Teacher of the Year
The Teacher of the Year award recognizes excellence in STEM teaching and support for the biotechnology pathway, part of Georgia’s Career Clusters, by a current high school biotechnology teacher.

2016 Award Winner
Janet Standeven, M.S., Lambert High School – Suwanee, GA

Click Here for a list of previous award winners.
Click here to View and/or Download Photos from previous dinners.
more Calendar

UGA - GaBio/ELN Info. Session

GSU - GaBio/ELN Info. Session

Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal